OPWC Infrastructure Program

Ohio Public Works Commission Sign

The Eastgate Regional Council of Governments serves as the administrative home for the District 6 Public Works Integrating Committee (D6PWIC). There are 19 District Integrating Committees covering all 88 Ohio Counties. In Mahoning and Trumbull Counties, the D6PWIC develops the methodology to administer the State Capital Improvement Program (SCIP) and the Local Transportation Improvement Program (LTIP) and to annually evaluate the Pre-Applications submitted by the various units of local government, and submit a slate of projects to the Ohio Public Works Commission (OPWC) for their concurrence and subsequent funding. The OPWC is responsible for administering these two infrastructure programs, SCIP and LTIP on a statewide basis.

State Capital Improvement Program (SCIP)

The State Capital Improvement Program (SCIP) was created in 1987 and provides funding to counties, cities, villages, townships, and water and sanitary districts. Funding is provided through grants, loans, and loan assistance or local debt support. A portion of the SCIP funds is set aside for the Small Government Program and the Emergency Program.

Eligible projects are for improvements to roads, bridges, culverts, water supply systems, wastewater systems, storm water collection systems, and solid waste disposal facilities.

Local Transportation Improvement Program (LTIP)

The Local Transportation Improvement Program (LTIP) was created in 1989 and provides funding to counties, cities, villages, and townships. LTIP utilizes the gasoline tax and this funding is limited to roads and bridges only. Applicants may apply for grants up to 100% of the project cost.

2023 - Round 37 

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the D6PWIC Liaison Ed Davis.

More than one Google Analytics scripts are registered. Please verify your pages and templates.

Calendar of Round 37 Dates